Atueyi Lauds Ebong’s Tenacity as Young Pharmacist of the Year 2023 (VIDEO)


Presents Award Plaque, Cheque to him

Pharmanews Publisher, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, presenting an award plaque and auto-biography to Pharm. Uwem. O. Ebong.

The Managing Director, Pharmanews Limited, Pharm. (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, has lauded the reigning award winner of the Pharmanews Young Pharmacist of the Year 2023, Pharm. Uwem. O. Ebong, for his tenacity of purpose, dedication and determination towards any course he believes in, and also congratulated him for emerging the winner of the very tough contest.

The Pharmanews Young Pharmacist of the Year Online Contest was established in 2018 with Pharm. Isah Muhammad as the winner of the maiden edition; Pharm. Frank Eze, won the 2019 contest; Pharm. Daniel Eze, was 2020 winner; Pharm. Ozioma Ezeofor clinched the 2022 Award and Pharm. Ebong, the latest champion.

Speaking at the Award presentation ceremony held at the corporate head office of Pharmanews in Lagos, Atueyi expressed his great delight in meeting him for the first time, adding that despite all efforts to discourage him from coming over from Akwa-Ibom State, due to economic constraint, insecurity and other bottlenecks, he was determined to come.

He explained the objective of the award was to discover innovation and service delivery among young pharmacists in Nigeria, and to encourage them to expand their reach towards improving healthcare provision in the country, saying Ebong was highly qualified to win the award, as the major areas of concern for winning the award which is public health advocacy was met by him.

GAVI’s Immunisation Support Extension
A cross-section of Pharmanews staff in a photograph with the award winner and his colleagues during the award presentation.

His words, “Whoever that would be qualified for this category of award must have demonstrated innovation in healthcare delivery, and must have been engaged in health research and development, especially towards combating any infectious disease. So we are interested in young pharmacists who are extending their interest beyond just pharmacy, but general healthcare,” he said.

He continued, “Winners must have ambition to make a difference in their calling, and must not only be described as ‘ordinary pharmacists’, and must have demonstrated special interest in other areas of healthcare. As a pharmacist, I am not a routine pharmacist, so our winners should not also be routine pharmacists but must have added something to their basic training,” he stressed.

Speaking further, the octogenarian publisher noted that in consonant with the vision of catching them young, Pharmanews established a long-term relationship with young pharmacists, which has been sustained over the years, adding that presently, the journal is reaching 27 Pharmacy schools across the country, saying the objective is that anyone who studied pharmacy in Nigeria must get acquainted with Pharmanews and must get familiar with it after graduation.

NIMR DG Identifies Causes of Chronic Kidney Diseases in Nigeria

He however charged Ebong as the latest ambassador of Pharmanews to be up and doing in the industry, while flying the flag of integrity. “Our winners must have the ambition to make a difference in their callings, touch lives, and as Pharmanews ambassador, they must project the image of Pharmanews at all times,” he stated.

Speaking after receiving the award plaque, book gift and the cheque of N150,000, an elated Ebong, who is currently the coordinator of the South-South Zone of the PSN-YPG, vowed not to let his guard down, and also promised not to let down Pharmanews expectations for him.

Ebong, a community pharmacist and public health advocate based in Uyo, Akwa-Ibom State, noted that he was overwhelmed with joy for the honour of emerging the Pharmanews Young Pharmacist of the Year 2023, and being the first time Pharmanews Award is going to the Akwa-Ibom State. He stated that the award is not just a win for him alone, but victory for young pharmacists across the country.

Speaking further, he commended his co-contenders at the poll for being outstandingly exceptional for contributing so much to pharmacy and healthcare in general, and for being worthy contenders, adding that the victory is for all of them.

Re:Benzoic Acid in Fanta: Negligence Or Nonchalance?

According to him “This award reminds me of the responsibility that comes with it, which means I would have to continue striving for excellence, be a positive influence on society, be a good ambassador of Pharmanews, and do my best to assist in public health coverage.”
Recall that at the end of the poll last year, Ebong had 1102 votes to win against the first runner-up, Pharm. Shadrach Nzomisaki with 970 votes, while Pharm. Goodness Nmesoma Ohakwe had 445 votes; Pharm. Tekena George, 251 votes: and Pharm. Peter Fiyebo Ebiwei, ended with 116 votes.

Speaking at the ceremony, the duo of Mr Patrick Iwelunmor, editor, Pharmanews and Mrs Temitope Obayendo, online editor, congratulated Ebong and urged him not to relent in rendering service to humanity, adding that as an ambassador of Pharmanews, he is meant to be in touch with the organisation as well as fly its flag higher for the next one year and beyond.

On the entourage of the Award winner, Pharm. Ebong were Pharm. Oluwabukunmi Ajibade, former national deputy coordinator, PSN-YPG; Augustine Chidera Ugwu, general secretary, PSN-YPG, Nasarawa State; and Pharm. Nmesoma Goodness Ohakwe, coordinator, PSN-YPG, Lagos, and a co-contestant for the award.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here