Buhari Inaugurates Health Sector Reform Committee, Names Osinbajo as Chairman




Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the setting up of a Health Sector Reform Committee to commence the development and implementation of a Health Sector Reform programme for Nigeria in collaboration with state governments and the FCT administration. This is sequel to a Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report developed by a consultant, Vesta Healthcare Partners and the Federal Ministry of Health.

In a statement signed by Garba Shehu,
senior special assistant to the President on
Media & Publicity, he said the committee will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme.

NAFDAC canvasses property seizure, life jail for drug counterfeiters

He explained that the committee which is set up for a period of six months under the Chairmanship of Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, has members drawn from private and public sector healthcare management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others.

Other members are: His Excellency Dr Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor of Delta State ; Dr Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Health; Mr Alex Okoh Director General BPE; Prof Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Mr Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Council; Senator(Dr) Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe; Dr. Adedamola Dada; Dr Sani Aliyu; Dr Mairo Mandara; Dr Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga; Professor Uche Amazigbo; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa; Dr Gambo Aliyu.

COVID-19 Pandemic: A Judgement Day Rehearsal

Others in the committee are: Dr Betta Edu (Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum representing National Council on Health); President Nigeria Medial Association; President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives; President Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro; Dr Muhammad Sadiq; Dr Azubike Tagbo and World Health Organization, Nigeria.

Vesta Healthcare Partners and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation are to serve as resources persons and have observer roles in the committee.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here