Dr (Mrs) Ajoritsedere Josephine Awosika


Dr (Mrs) Ajoritsedere Josephine Awosika (nee Okotie-Eboh) was born in Sapele, Delta State. She attended Anglican Girls Grammar School, Benin City, and the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, graduating with a Second Class (upper) degree in Pharmacy (1976). She also obtained an MSc in Clinical Pharmacy and a PhD in Pharmacy Technology from the Postgraduate School of Pharmacy, University of Bradford, United Kingdom in 1981 and 1985 respectively.

Following the completion of her doctoral studies, Dr Awosika was inducted as a Fellow of the West Africa Postgraduate College of Pharmacists, before proceeding for a postdoctoral training in Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Leeds Teaching Hospital, United Kingdom. She is also an alumnus of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru, Plateau State.

Pharm. (Mrs) Edith Uchenna Nwachukwu is our November Personality

Dr Awosika has a vast working experience, beginning as an intern at the General Hospital, Benin City. She also worked at the S.I.M. Hospital/Plateau Hospital, Jos, and the Military Hospital, Lagos. She was Senior Pharmacist-in-Charge at the Military Hospital, Benin City; and Research Pharmacist at St. Mary’s Hospital, Bradford, United Kingdom (while attending an in-service training). She equally had stints in practical attachment at Whipp Cross Hospital and Barnett Hospital, London. She later worked as a Clinical Pharmacist at Base Hospital (former Military Hospital), Yaba, where she disengaged at Directorate level.

Dr (Mrs) Awosika was the pioneer the National Coordinator/Chief Executive of the National Programme on Immunisation; Director (Parastatals) in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Director (Department of Community Relations & Youth Development) in the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Interior; Permanent Secretary, Career Management Office, in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; and Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Science & Technology.

Meet Pharm. Ajibola Nojeem Lawal

She has to her credit various publications and paper presentations in her professional field.

She is a Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) and the National Institute of Directors. She is also a member of the Great Britain Clinical Pharmacists Forum. She is a recipient of several honours and awards, including Member of the Federal Republic (MFR), the Distinguished Vocational Service Award of Rotaract District 9130 Nigeria of Rotary International; the ECOWAS Community Service Gold Award by Intra-Continental Media Networks; and the Distinguished Pharmacist Award by the Lagos branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria.

Dr (Mrs) Awosika, in January 2013, retired from the Nigerian Civil service as the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power. She is presently an independent director for Access Bank and Capital Assurance and a member of the board for Ajaasin University, Ondo State, Nigeria.

Professor Chinedum Peace Babalola is our Personality of the Month

She is happily, married wth children.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here