Eminent health professionals bag Micro Nova’s 2015 Excellence Award


No fewer than 22 heads of pharmacy department, 13 chief medical directors (CMDs), six directors of pharmaceutical services (DPS)and consultants in specialty areas of cardiology,  nephrology, endocrinology, obstetrics and gynaecology in various institutions in Lagos received the maiden Excellence Awards of pharmaceutical giant, Micro Nova.

The colourful occasion, held at Protea Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos on 23 June, had several pharmacists, stakeholders, key opinion leaders from the health sector, and the company staff in attendance.

Speaking at the event, Pharm. Bonaventure Agbo, Micro Nova’s marketing director expressed delight at the huge turnout of participants, despite having been invited on short notice.

“I like to thank you all for your presence at tonight dinner. We are celebrating excellence today because your belief in us has brought us this far,” he said.

Pharm. Harriet Amaefuna seemed to share a similar view when she explained that the awardees had been part of Micro Nova’s success story in Lagos, adding that they had partnered with the company in fulfilling its key vision.

Consideration in contracts, examples of Nigerian cases

Equally expressing his delight, Pharm. Tavinder Jit Singh Tasudeva, president and chief business officer of Microlab India, reassured participants at the event on the company’s products, noting that their drugs are well-tailored for the Nigerian market, which has a similar climate and demography with that of India.

“We don’t just import drugs into Nigeria without properly analysing the situation,” Singh said. “Therefore I urge you to feel free to ask questions and raise observations as we are all here to rub minds together this evening.”

In his earlier address, Mr Hemant Sharma, vice president (Microlabs India) and head of operations, Micro Nova Pharmaceuticals  announced that the journey to the top had not been all rosy.

“However we are happy to associate with the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN), Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria (ACPN), Association of Industrial Pharmacists of Nigeria (NAIP), National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), nephrologists, cardiologists and physicians across the country.

NUC Approves Nursing Science, MedLab Science, Others for Trinity University

“We thank you for making us one of the fastest growing pharmaceutical companies in Nigeria. Come 2020, we are hoping to be among the first 10. Lastly, it is the desire of Microlab India and Micro Nova to turn the Excellence Award into an annual award,” he said.

Among the 57 winners of the Excellence Awards were Pharm. Oluranti Opanuga, head of pharmacy department, Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH); Dr Akinyele Akinlade, Lagos General Hospital; Dr Stella Alagbe, Lagos General Hospital; Pharm. Segun Onakoya, head of pharmacy department, Ikorodu General Hospital; Dr Ojeh   Aigbavboa, Lagos General Hospital; Dr Morufat Salau, Lagos General Hospital; Pharm. E.O. Akofi, head of pharmacy department, Lagos General Hospital; Dr Casmir  Amadi, consultant cardiologist, LUTH; Dr A. C. Mbakwem, LUTH; Dr M.O. Mabayoje, LUTH; and Pharm. (Mrs) Margaret Obono, head of pharmacy department, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Igbobi.

Study Shows Genetics Play a Role in Happy Marriage

Others were Prof. Wale Oke, chief medical director of Lagos State Univeristy Teaching Hospital (LASUTH); Pharm. (Mrs) Omotomike  Akinbote, head of pharmacy department, Randle General Hospital; Pharm (Mrs)  Hannah  Efenure, head of pharmacy department, Apapa General Hospital; Dr Oyebola Oyeleke, LUTH; Dr Olusegun Joseph, LUTH; Pharm. Adefoluke Adeniyi, head of pharmacy department, Gbagada General Hospital; Dr Lateef  Lawal, managing director and chief executive officer of Gbagada General Hospital; Dr Bolu Ojuroye, consultant cardiologist, Gbagada General Hospital; Pharm. (Mrs) Mary Iyogun, head of pharmacy department, Isolo General Hospital; Pharm. (Mrs) Abimbola Awofuwa, Ajeromi General Hospital HOD Pharmacy and Pharm. Bayo Adeleke, head of pharmacy department, Lagoon hospitals.

Micro Nova is a specialty division of Microlabs, which was established in 1973. It has presence in over 50 countries that cut across the United States, South East Asia, Australia, Africa and Europe. Among other things, the company has 300 scientists in its employ and a robust range of 520 brands.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here