Gbadamosi Hands Over to New Oyo ACPN Excos

Pharm. Wale Oladigbolu, national chairman chairman, ACPN, and Pharm. Olusegun Ariyo, ACPN chairman, Ogun State, administering oath of office on the newly elected ACPN officers in Oyo State.

It was an exciting moment at the indoor hall of the Basorun Hall, Ibadan Civic Centre, Ibadan, Oyo State, the venue of the Association of the Community Pharmacists of Nigeria’s (ACPN) Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Award Presentation as Pharm. Abiodun Gbadamosi, chairman, ACPN Oyo State Chapter, handed over the mantle of power to a new crop of executives, headed by Pharm. Adebayo Gbadamosi, as chairman.

Recalling the challenges and successes encountered during his three years of service to the association, Gbadamosi noted that under his leadership, tremendous impacts were made in the practice environment with community pharmacists in the state becoming the first to be fully integrated into the State Immunisation Programme for COVID-19 vaccination in Nigeria, adding that more community pharmacists have been trained to render COVID-19 vaccination services in their premises.

Gbadamosi who said the association featured in most of the government organised health programmes, however, noted that community pharmacists in the state are not happy due to their daily harassment by men of the underworld and even security agents in the process of rendering essential duties.

He also cited some unfriendly policies of government such as that of the Ministry of Agriculture, Oyo State, in conjunction with the Association of Veterinary Doctors, which stated that according to a bill passed at the state level, they have the right to regulate pharmacy, especially as regards the fact that pharmacists are not supposed to dispense veterinary drugs and animal products.

PSN needs a better working relationship with PCN – NAHAP Chairman

Leading the new crop of leaders was Pharm. Gbadamosi, who emerged as the chairman, followed by Pharm. (Mrs) Aderemi Adekunle, as vice-chairman, then Pharm. (Mrs) Hamida Atere Akeukere, elected as secretary, while Pharm. (Mrs) Florence Ogunfowora, was assistant secretary.

Pharm. Pharm. Olufemi Ismail Adebayo, former national chairman, ACPN, presenting a commendation award plaque to the immediate past Oyo State ACPN chairman, Pharm. Abiodun Gbadamosi, with Pharm. Wale Oladigbolu, national chairman, ACPN (left), and Pharm. Adebayo Gbadamosi, chairman, Oyo State ACPN, watches in admiration.
Others were: Pharm. (Mrs) Janet Oladimeji, treasurer; Pharm. Babatunde Olayiwola, financial secretary; Pharm. Okey Jacob, publicity secretary; Pharm. (Mrs) Omosolape Oshin, editor-in-chief; Pharm. Omosowone Adeleke, unofficial member; Pharm. Patience Ebele, auditor and Pharm. Abiodun Gbadamosi, immediate past chairman.
In his acceptance speech, the newly elected chairman, Gbadamosi, appreciated all community pharmacists in the state for the confidence they have in him which made them elect him as their leader, adding that the ACPN in the state is offboarding a progressive train and onboarding a similarly progressive procession.
“Our agenda for ACPN revolve around education, public engagement, and collaboration. Each agendum is driven towards some common goals, reputation, innovation, self-actualisation, and evaluation, a combination I call “RISE”, he said.
Addressing the new executives, Pharm. Wale Oladigbolu, national chairman, ACPN, who conducted the oath of office on them urged the office to hit the ground running, adding that the election has come and gone, and now is the time to settle down to work.
The number one community pharmacist in the country noted that the AGM was a homecoming for him, adding that he was glad at the turn of things in ACPN Oyo State especially being a frontline state showcasing the strength and ability of pharmacists in driving COVID-19 vaccination in Nigeria.
Speaking further, the ACPN boss urged the new state executives to be of good conduct while in office, as they must always uphold the tenets of the profession in good conscience, as a guiding principle for other members of the association to follow.
He also charged them to leave behind them an indelible footprint and landmark achievement that will put their names in the book of honour as far as Oyo State ACPN is concerned.
Oladigbolu appreciated the Oyo State members for their great strides with impactful and noticeable practices across the state. He also used the opportunity to thank them for their votes during the ACPN National Conference held at Abeokuta in 2021 where he became the national chairman.
In her goodwill message, the Director, South-West Zone, NAFDAC, Pharm. (Mrs) Roseline Ajayi, noted that community pharmacy is a critical aspect of Nigerian healthcare delivery system and plays a major role in the primary healthcare system.
She added that being experts in drug distribution and drug dispensing, they are all expected to imbibe Good Pharmacy Practices in their various outlets, adding that the ethics of the profession should supersede the economics of drug sales.
Speaking in the same vein, the PCN Zonal Director, South West, Pharm. (Mrs) Yejide Oseni, commended the members of ACPN, Oyo State for being the first to be fully integrated into the vaccination programme in the country.
Awards of Commendation were presented to all the past chairmen of the association, which includes, Pharm. Ipoola Ogunye; Pharm. Aderemi Ajuwon; Pharm. (Mrs) M.A Odusanya; Pharm. Olalekan Gunwa; Pharm. Adebisi Adebayo; Pharm. Musibau Gbadamosi; Pharm. (Mrs) Bolanle Salako; Pharm. Ajao Olufemi; Pharm. Adegboyega Oguntoye, and Pharm. Abiodun Gbadamosi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here