Monkeypox: NCDC Validates 38 Cases in 8 States


…1Says 45 contacts under surveillance

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has confirmed a total of 38 cases of the viral disease, Monkeypox from the following states of the Federation: Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Lagos, Rivers and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Although no death has been recorded so far from the disease, it was said that a total of 116 suspected cases were recorded from 20 States and the FCT; since the onset of the outbreak.

Stating the outcome of its investigation on the disease, the NCDC in its Situation Report 006 dated 2nd November 2007, noted that a total of 103 samples have been collected and sent to National Reference  Laboratory (NRL), Lagos for further investigation.

Oborevwori, Usifoh Others Advocate Collaboration to Drive Universal Health Coverage

The report noted that the male to female ratio is 2:1 while the most affected age group is 21-40 years with a median of 31. Rapid response teams (RRTs) have been deployed to Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta and Enugu), to support outbreak response while all other suspected cases reported from other states are being investigated. The NCDC said public awareness activities have been intensified while laboratory testing capacity has been established in the National Reference Laboratory, Abuja.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here