NAPharm Honours Oldest Past PSN President At 88


In a worthy show of solidarity, the Nigeria Academy of Pharmacy (NAPharm) has lauded Chief (Pharm.) Oludolapo Akinkugbe, pioneer general secretary of the defunct Nigerian Union of Pharmacists (NUP) and oldest former president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN).

Addressing a gathering of notable pharmacists during NAPharm’s Investiture of New Fellows and Award Dinner held recently at Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, president of the academy declared that he was always proud to meet the octogenarian due to his impeccable record.

“However I am not surprised he has come this far. It has always been in his DNA to be a successful pharmacist because, if you recall, his father was equally a renowned druggist.

Adelusi-Adeluyi, Yakasai, Others Bag NAFDAC’s Legacy Award
L-R: Pharm. Ahmed Yakasai, PSN president; Chief Olu Akinkugbe, past president of the Society; and Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, NAPharm president at the investiture of new members and award dinner.

 “That is why even at 88, he still finds time to attend and participate actively in major pharmaceutical events. Little wonder he remains the oldest past president of the society still in our midst today,” he said.

Born in Ondo town on 5 December, 1928, Chief Oludolapo Ibukun Akinkugbe is the founding director of Palm Chemists. His father was a renowned druggist who qualified as a chemist and druggist in 1919.

Akinkugbe finished at Ondo Boys High School in December 1945 with a good Grade 1 Cambridge School Certificate, which qualified him for exemption from London Matriculation Examination. In the middle of 1946, he took the entrance examination to the School of Pharmacy in Yaba where he qualified as a pharmacist before his 21st birthday.

ALPs Lists, Acknowledges All Sponsors in 2016

In attendance at the NAPharm Investiture and Dinner Award were Prof. Julius Okojie, former executive secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC); Pharm. N.A.E. Mohammed, registrar, Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN); Pharm. Olu Akanmu, senior vice president, retail banking at First City Monument Bank (FCMB); Prof. Charles Esimone, deputy vice chancellor (academic), Nnamdi Azikwe University and Pharm. Amina Zakari, national commissioner, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Others were Dr Modele Osunkiesi, permanent secretary, ministry of health who represented Lagos State governor; Pharm Ahmed Yakasai, PSN president; Dr Christopher Kolade, Nigerian high commissioner to the United Kingdom; Prof. Fola Tayo, NAPharm general secretary; Pharm. Lekan Asuni, managing director of Lafas Pharmaceuticals and Prof. Olukemi Odukoya, former dean, UNILAG Faculty of Pharmacy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here