NAPharm Inducts Gamaniel, Five Others, as Fellows


No fewer than six distinguished pharmacists have been inducted into the growing fold of the Nigeria Academy of Pharmacy (NAPharm) fellowship.

The investiture of new Fellows which held yesterday at Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Ikeja GRA, Lagos, had Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, president, NAPharm; Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, NAPharm vice president (South); Prof. Fola Tayo, Napharm secretary; Pharm. Ahmed Yakasai, president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN); Dr Lolu Ojo, chairman, Merit Pharmaceuticals; Prof Isa Marte Hussaini, keynote speaker and Pharm N.A.E Mohammed, registrar, Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) in attendance.

L-R: Senator Olushola Adeyeye, Senate chief whip with wife, Prof Mojisola Adeyeye, new NAPharm Fellow and Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, vice president, NAPharm.

Others were Pharm Lekan Asuni, managing director, Lefas Pharma; Dr. Okey Akpa, chairman, Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Group of Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (PMG-MAN); Prof. Kemi Odukoya, former dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos (UNILAG); Prof. Mbang Femi-Oyewo, former dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU); Pharm. Nnamdi Obi, chairman, Association of Pharmaceutical Importers of Nigeria (APIN) and Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, former managing director, Neimeth Pharmaceuticals.

Netherlands Records First Coronavirus Death after Reinfection

Expressing his enthusiasm, Adelusi-Adeluyi noted that the new Fellows have increased the membership strength of NAPHARM to 82 Fellows.

L-R: Dr Gloria Ajayi, head, department of pharmacognosy, UNILAG Faculty of Pharmacy; Prof Herbert Coker, one of the new Fellows inducted by NAPharm; Prof. Kemi Odukoya, former dean and Prof. Bolajoko Aina, current dean of the faculty.

Although the NAPharm boss disclosed that several requests for membership are still on cue, the academy is taking its time to review the track record of the applicants before accepting them into its fold.

“It is no accident that the individuals we inducted into our ranks are those with a strong passion for scientific research.

These are tested professionals who appreciate the value of research in fast tracking socio-economic progress of societies. In fact, three of them are drawn from core academic,” he said.

Mortein Takes Fight Against Malaria to Communities on World Malaria Day

The new Fellows are Prof. Mojisola Adeyeye, Professor of Pharmaceutics and first African Woman to bag the fellowship of American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
(AAPS); Prof Herbert A. B Coker, former deputy provost, University of Lagos (UNILAG); Dr. Ogori Taylor, pharmaceutical advisor, World Health Organisation (WHO); Prof Karniyus Gamaniel, DG/CEO, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research and Development (NIPRD); Dr. Teresa Pounds, Pharmacotherapy Pharmacist and Pharm. Calixthus Okoruwa, communications management consultant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here