Nigeria Confirms 5 New Coronavirus Cases, Bans Travel from 13 Countries


Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire has just announced the confirmation of five new cases of Coronavirus in the country, making the total number of confirmed cases eight.

Announcing the update via his Twitter handle, Ehanire said  “I regret to announce the confirmation of 5 new #COVID19 cases in #Nigeria bringing the total number of confirmed cases to 8”.

Coronavirus: WHO Declares Disease as Global Threat
Illustration of coronavirus as a respiratory system attack

With the information that the five new cases are said to have travel history from United Kingdom and the United States, the federal government has placed a travel ban on 13 countries worst hit with the epidemic including : China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, United States of America, Norway, United Kingdom, Netherlands & Switzerland.

Nigeria Records 561 New COVID-19 Cases, Toll Now 25694, 590 Fatalities –NCDC

The Presidential Taskforce on COVID19, with a 12-member committee, chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, took the decision on Tuesday, while travel restriction is said to commence on March 21.

Earlier on Tuesday, the federal government has directed all civil servants to disembark from foreign trips in order to prevent the spread of the disease.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here