Nigerian Medical Association Elects New President, Other Executives


The Nigerian Medical Association (NMA) has elected a new president, in the person of Dr Francis Adedayo Faduyile. He was elected on Sunday, 5 May, 2018 at the end of the association’s 58th Annual General Conference and Delegates Meeting held in Abuja.

Dr Faduyile, who hails from Ikoya, in Okitipupa Local Government Area of Ondo State, is an Associate Professor and a Consultant Pathologist at the Lagos State University College of Medicine/Teaching Hospital.

NMA Gets New President
Dr Francis Adedayo Faduyile

The new president was elected with other national executive officers of the NMA, to pilot the affairs of the association for the next two years.

Other elected national officers are : Kenneth Tijo, first vice president; Ofem Enang, second vice president; Olumuyiwa Peter, secretary general; Benjamin Ikechukwu deputy secretary general;  Ayuwaja Nayagawa, national treasurer; Abdulgafar Jimoh, national financial secretary; and Obitade Obimakinde, national publicity secretary.

I Learnt A Lesson of Life Time from COVID-19- Bukky George

In his acceptance remarks, Dr Faduyile said the new executives would deliver their duties with vigour and carry every member along in running the affairs of the association.

“Every part of the health sector would be represented; we want to be fair and promote the profession, and we also want to ensure that our workers work well”.

Meanwhile, the immediate past president of the NMA, Prof. Mike Ogirima has expressed satisfaction with the performance of his team members, saying his administration left good legacy for the association.

Prof. Ogirima, who spoke on Channnels TV on Sunday, said he proactively engaged the government during his tenure on issues bothering on improvement of the health sector as well as the welfare of his members.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here