OAU Upsets UI to Clinch 2019 Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Contest


-As UNN, UI, UNIBEN, OOU win in other categories

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) has pipped two-time winner, University of Ibadan (UI), to emerge champion of the 5th Annual Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Competition while University of Nigeria (UNN) won the essay category.

Proudly sponsored by Emzor, Alpha and Sun (Ranbaxy) Pharmaceuticals, the annual contest took place at the Faculty of Pharmacy’s new auditorium of UI on 11 September, 2019.

OAU upsets UI to Clinch 2019 Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Contest
L-R: Victor Osundele, the lead speaker of OAU team receiving his ‘Best Orator’ award from Moses Dike representative of Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi.

With 21 entries from various schools across the country, Oreoulwa Alabi, president, Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS – UI Chapter) explained that five faculties of Pharmacy namely Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), University of Nigeria (UNN), Delta State University (DELSU), University of Benin (UNIBEN) and the host varsity (UI) were shortlisted for the essay competition.

New courses needed to meet emerging challenges - Prof. Osazuwa

When the judges reeled out names of the winners, Nancy Amadi from UNN emerged top. She beat the likes of Soyebo Abdul-Ahmed (UI), Saheed Sanyaolu (OOU), Olukoya Omotosho (UI) and Folagbade Praise to the second, third, fourth and fifth place respectively.

While explaining the criteria deplored to decide winners, the judges explained that the panelists considered a number of factors ranging from number of points garnered, manner of presentation, dress code and composure to decide who the eventual winner would be.

In the debate category, the host team (UI) put up a strong resistance for losing out in the essay contest.

OAU upsets UI to Clinch 2019 Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Contest
A cross section of Pharmanews team, organisers and winners of the competition displaying their various award plaques and certificates.

The debate bothered on three sensitive national issues – “Solutions to Nigeria’s internal security challenges”; “Proliferation of cybercrime in Nigeria: Did youths fail Nigeria or Nigeria failed them?” and “Should there be child birth restriction policy in Nigeria?”

PCN warns against unaccredited internship centres

Despite fighting tooth and nail to retain the 2019 edition of the annual debate contest, the UI team lost to a gallant OAU gladiators who, apparently, were better prepared for the tourney.

At the end of the heated debate, Adeolu Oyeniran (a final student of OAU) clinched the ‘Best Debater’ award while Victor Osuntokun won the “Best Orator' award.

OAU upsets UI to Clinch 2019 Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Contest

 R-L: Moses Dike, business development manager and Solomon Ojigbo, IT manager, Pharmanews Limited receiving the award of excellence on behalf of Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi from Oreoulwa Alabi, president, PANS (UI Chapter) and Habeeb Habeeb, (L & D) coordinator, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Essay & Debate Competition.

In the same vein, University of Ibadan and Delta State University (DELSU) were annouced as first and second runners up respectively.

Shortly after certificates of participation were issued to all students from each participating school, the organisers took out time to appreciate the patron of the contest.

Just In: Leadership Newspaper publisher, Pharm.Sam Nda-Isaiah dies at 58

“We are honouring Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi today with a special Award of Excellence for birthing the initiative of this essay & debate competition.

“To our esteemed sponsors – Emzor, Alpha and Sun (Ranbaxy) Pharmaceuticals, we appreciate you. We also want to congratulate OAU for winning the 5th edition of the contest thereby becoming the next host”, he noted.

It would be recalled that the Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate & Essay Competition initiative was launched in 2014 with a mandate to allow each year’s winner host the next edition.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here