PCN Inducts 142 UNILAG Pharmacy Graduands



A cross-section of the inductees

The Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos recently graduated 142 new pharmacists and they were all inducted into the Pharmacy profession by the Pharmacy Council of Nigeria (PCN).

The graduands were inducted into the profession at the 2021/2022 Induction Ceremony/9th Alumni Lecture held on 27 October, 2023,  at the J. F. Ade-Ajayi (Main) Auditorium, University of Lagos, Akoka. The theme of the event was “The Nth star pharmacist: Being the best you can be”.

While speaking shortly before he led the graduands on oat taking, the Registrar, PCN, Pharm. Babashehu Ahmed, charged the inductees to be ethical in all they will be doing and also work for the advancement of the healthcare sector.

He pointed out that the council frown at professional misconduct. He therefore charged the inductees to acquaint themselves with professional moral ethics and avoid any misconducts that will damage the reputation of the pharmacy profession.


The Best Graduating Student, Kofoworola Adebayo, (middle); Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos, Prof. Gloria Ayoola (right) with the parents and a relative of the Best Gaduating Student.

In his remark, the Director of Pharmaceutical Services, Lagos State Health Service Commission, who was the Chairman of the occasion, Pharm. Segun Onakoya charged the new inductees to develop interpersonal, digital, financial, management skills, as well as empathy, multitasking, scientific aptitude and counselling skills which will help them provide patient-centered pharmaceutical care and innovative drug products.

NMA Links Deplorable Condition of Health Sector to Meagre Allocation

In her address, the keynote speaker Pharm. (Dr) Uganze Eke, urged the graduands to be the best in everything they do, pointing that there is no limit to the levels they can attain. She noted that if they must be the best in all they do, they must embrace their unique qualities and also find their niche in the pharmaceutical world.

Eke who is the MD/CEO of Fitness Fair Limited, also urged the graduands to embrace technology and also ensure that they always update themselves. ”You must shine bright and make a lasting impact in the field of pharmacy and beyond”, the keynote speaker said.

The Vice- Chancellor, University of Lagos, Prof. Folasade Ogunsola FAS, who was ably represented by the Deputy Vice- Chancellor, Academics and Research, Prof. Bola Oboh, also urged the graduands to go out there to be the best they are meant to be and also be a good ambassador of the university.

 New Heights Pharma Unveils Omron M7 Intelli IT, Others in Lagos

In her remark, the Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos, Professor Gloria Ayoola,  charged the graduands to embrace challenges as an opportunity for growth. She also urged them to approach every situation with empathy and remember that the pursuit of excellence is a continuous journey, not a destination.

The chairperson of the Induction Planning Committee/9th Alumni Lecture Series Committee, Dr (Mrs) Olubusola Olugbake, on behalf of the Faculty, expressed profound gratitude to all the sponsors who made the event glorious, stating that sponsorship started prior to the induction with donation of gift items from Fidson Healthcare Plc to inductees and the faculty.

She also appreciated other sponsors which include PCN, Board of Fellows of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Association of Pharmacists in Academia (NAPA), Medplus Pharmacy, Mega Lifesciences Nigeria Limited, Pharmalliance, Miraflash Pharmaceuticals, Evans Therapeutics, Victory Vaccine Clinic among others.

HerbFest 2020: Nigerian Researchers Explore Herbal Medicine, Supplements as COVID-19 Therapy

Out of the 142 graduands, 24 came out with distinction, with Khadijah Kofoworola Adebayo emerging as the Best Graduating Student of the 2021/2022 session. Apart from the Faculty of Pharmacy Dean’s price to the best graduating student, other category of award/price sponsored by different organisations/ institution and won by some of the students were the Bowl of Hygeia Award sponsored by Pharm. (Chief) Yetunde Morohundiya and won by Aanuoluwapo Temitope Adesegun.

Others were PCN Best Graduating Student-Overall Best Graduating Student; Board of Fellows, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria PSN Best Graduating Student in Clinical Pharmacy; Nigerian Association of Pharmacists in Academia Award for Outstanding Pharmacy Student; Medplus Pharmacy Leadership and Excellence Award – Male and Female; Mega Lifesciences Nigeria Limited Best Graduating Student – Male and Female; PSN-Young Pharmacists Group (PSN-YPG) [Leadership and Excellence Award.

The event was graced by various dignitaries from across all sphere of pharmacy practice.








Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here