PCN Inducts 65 UI Pharmacy Graduands with 22 Distinctions


Set to Kickoff Pharm.D Programme

No fewer than 65 graduands of the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan (UI), Ibadan, Oyo State, were recently inducted into the Pharmacy profession, by the Registrar, Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN), Pharm. N.A.E Mohammed, at the induction ceremony, held at the Faculty of Pharmacy Auditorium, University of Ibadan, UI, Oyo State, recently.

The low key but colourful induction ceremony, which was hybrid due to the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, had some dignitaries in attendance, such as Acting Vice-Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Professor Adebola Babatunde Ekanola; Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Professor Oluwatoyin Odeku;  Registrar, Pharmacists Council of Nigeria, Pharm. NAE Mohammed, who was represented by Pharm. (Mrs) Yejide Oseni, director, South West, PCN; Pharm. (Mrs) Olatokunbo A. Fagbemi, group managing director and CEO, Nigerian Aviation Handling Company (NAHCO), among many others.

In his address, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Ekanola, charged the graduands to be good ambassadors of the institution, adding that they should be found worthy in character and in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Foundation provides cataract surgery for 29 people in Keffi
PCN Inducts 65 UI Pharmacy Graduands with 22 Distinctions
L-R: Pharm. (Mrs) Yejide Oseni, director, PCN South West Zone; Prof. Oluwatoyin Odeku, dean, Faculty of Pharmacy; Professor Adebola Babatunde Ekanola, Ag. VC, University of Ibadan and Mr A.O. Babalola, Pharmacy Faculty Officer, UI, at the induction ceremony.

The University don, while welcoming and congratulating parents and guardians of the inductees, as well as guests and well-wishers, who linked up virtually to join the occasion, noted that it became necessary to organise the programme as hybrid in line with the conditions prescribed by the University of Ibadan COVID-19 monitoring team.

He continued: “I must salute the courage of the Faculty of Pharmacy staff, led by the Dean, Prof. Odeku, for the unrelenting efforts that have culminated in the success that we are celebrating today. I also commend the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN), the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), the Faculty of Pharmacy Alumni Association and other stakeholders involved in training and supporting these inductees” he said.

While presenting the 65 graduands for the oath-taking and induction ceremony, Prof. Odeku, urged the inductees to be worthy ambassadors of the faculty as she urged them to join the Alumni Association, towards contributing to the development of the faculty and the university.

NHC Pharma Commissions New Outlet in Abeokuta

Speaking further, Prof. Odeku who was full of smiles however revealed that the long awaited approval for Doctor of Pharmacy, Pharm. D programme will commence in the 2020/2021 academic session, adding that the programme has been scheduled to commence this month, February, 2021.

While administering the oath, the Registrar, Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) Pharm. Mohammed, who was represented by Pharm. Oseni, urged the newly inducted pharmacists to abide by the ethics of the profession. He also advised them to develop leadership and interpersonal relationship skills, which he said were vital in Pharmacy practice.

The Registrar further encouraged the graduands to shun all manners of practices that will tarnish their image and by extension, the image of the Pharmacy profession.

The keynote speaker Pharm. Fagbemi,  an alumnus of the faculty, implored the graduands to hit the ground running, while emphasising the need for them to work hard and strive to be successful in whatever career they find themselves.

Over 300,000 Used Condoms Repackaged, Sold in Vietnam

”As you begin life today as pharmacists with the end in mind, you must strive to achieve success in all areas of life, public, private and spiritual” she advised.

The high point of the event was the award of the much-coveted prize for the best graduating student, which was won by Basirat Oluwadamilola Rufai, with 6.9 CGPA, out of the total 7.0.

Meanwhile, 22 graduands came out with first class honours and were featured on the ‘Roll of Honour’, while Basirat Oluwadamilola Rufai, who graduated as the best overall student, won the highly coveted PCN prize, Faculty of Pharmacy Prize, UI Faculty of Pharmacy Alumni prize, Emeritus Professor Ajibola Olaniyi Prize, Professor Herbert Akinlolu Odelola Memorial Prize, and NAIP Prize. Also, Damilola Esther Olukorede, with CGPA of 6.8 out of 7.0 was the first runner up, as she bagged distinction in all the departmental courses.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here