Pharmanews Celebrates 2 Award Winners, Presents Plaque, Cheque to Ezeofor, Ajilaran (VIDEOS)



L-R: Sir (Dr) Emmanuel Udoye, representing the Young Pharmacist of the Year, Pharm. (Dr) Ozioma Ezeofor; Pharm. Ifeanyi Atueyi, publisher, Pharmanews; Ahmed Olasunkanmi Ajilaran, winner, PANSite of the Year 2023; and Temitope Obayendo, online editor, Pharmanews.

It was a historic and remarkable moment on Thursday, 25 May, 2023, at the Pharmanews Ltd corporate head office, as the management and staff assembled to celebrate the duo of Pharm. (Dr) Ozioma Onyedikachukwu Ezeofor, winner of the Pharmanews Young Pharmacist of the Year Award 2022, and Ahmed Olasunkanmi Ajilaran, a 400 level Pharmacy student, from the University of Lagos (UNILAG) who emerged winner of the Pharmanews PANSite of the Year Award 2023.


The Pharmanews Young Pharmacist of the Year Online Poll was established in 2018, with Pharm. Isah Muhammad as the first winner; Daniel Eze, winner, 2019; Frank Eze, winner, 2020; and Ezeofor, as the 2022 winner.

While the PANSite of the Year Award which commenced in April 2019, saw Yusuf Hassan Wada, from Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto State, as the first winner; Izukanne Emembolu, of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Akwa, in Anambra State as the winner, 2020; Martin Chukwunonso Nwofia, of Chukwuemeka Odumegbu Ojukwu University, Anambra State, as the winner, 2021; Jennifer Ekuma from the University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, as the winner, 2022; and Ahmed Olasunkanmi Ajilaran, from the University of Lagos, as the winner, 2023.

Awardees, their relatives and friends with Pharmanews team at the programme.

Speaking at the award presentation ceremony, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, publisher, Pharmanews, appreciated the award winners for emerging the best among others, adding that the purpose of the programme was to celebrate the winners of the 2022 Young Pharmacists of the Year, which he said was not done last year, and also to reward the current winner of the PANSite of the Year Award.

Mother Vaccinated With Moderna Vaccine Gives Birth to Baby With COVID-19 Antibodies

His words: “I want to thank God for making this day possible. We all know that last year, we were unable to celebrate winner of Young Pharmacist of the Year Award, for one reason or the other, but today, I want to thank the Pharmanews team for their efforts in making the ceremony a reality.

Speaking on the purpose of the awards presentation, the octogenarian noted that the awards were to recognise, encourage and reward excellence among pharmacists and Pharmacy students, adding that the winners must be outstanding individuals in certain areas.

Atueyi narrated how the relationship between Pharmanews and Pharmacy students began in May 1979, when the publication newly started, adding that with the vision of ‘catch them young’, the company has established a long-term relationship with young pharmacists, which has been sustained over the years. He also noted that to solidify the relationship, it established and introduced some novel programmes and awards on a yearly basis.

According to him, “We started Ifeanyi Atueyi Essay and Debate Competition in 2015, the Young Pharmacist Award in 2018, and the PANSite of the Year Award in 2019. In 2020, we introduced the Outstanding Pharmacist Award, and then Pharmanews Interschool Debate Competition in 2021. Last year, 2022, we introduced the Dean Award and the competition was very keen”.

The Pharmanews boss charged the winners to have it at the back of their minds that as the latest ambassadors of the company, they have to be up and doing in the industry, and in society while flying the flag of the company, and as well become the image makers of the company. “If you say you are the winner of the Pharmanews Award, people should respect you, they should not find you with questionable character. When people see you, they see Pharmanews, especially because your name will be published in Pharmanews as one of our ambassadors”, he stated.

Your Body Cream Can Give You Hypertension, Diabetes, Kidney Disease, Dermatologist Warns

The octogenarian publisher also urged the winners to live up to expectations, noting that they don’t need to be old before they can add value to peoples’ lives. He also added that the event has connected them to Pharmanews and automatically, they have become Pharmanews ambassadors, representing the brand wherever they go.

In her response after receiving the award plaque and the cheque of N150,000, an excited and elated Ezeofor, noted that the joy that came with being a recipient of the Pharmanews Award cannot be quantified, adding that apart from the integrity and personality of the Publisher, Atueyi, who has remained a mentor and role model to so many people, the Journal itself has imparted a lot of lives positively in the Pharmacy world and beyond.

Ezeofor, who was not in the country, was represented by her uncle, who is also a Pharmacist, Sir (Dr) Emmanuel Udoye, promised not to let down Pharmanews expectations for her, adding that she is ready to be a good ambassador of Pharmanews and project its good image.

FG Cautions Nigerians Against Treating Malaria Without Lab Test

Speaking in the same vein after receiving the award plaque and the cheque of N100,000, an excited Ajilaran promised not to disappoint the confidence reposed on him by his colleagues, and also not to let down Pharmanews' expectations for him.

He narrated the amazing way he got involved in the competition, adding that information filtered to him that UNILAG has never won the competition since inception, which prompted him to start a public health campaign project and opted to get involved in the competition in order to win. “I saw the criteria for participation, and I discovered I was qualified, so I worked on getting nominated, and today, I am the winner to the glory of God”, he said.

Speaking at the ceremony, the duo of the Editor, Pharmanews Limited, Mr Patrick Iwelunmor, and Business Development Manager, Mr Moses Dike, congratulated the winners and urged them to aspire to do more in life, adding that Pharmanews will continue to do its best to better the lot of Pharmacy profession in Nigeria.

Also speaking, the Pharmanews Online Editor, Mrs Temitope Obayendo, commended the winners for standing out among the crowd, adding that the two winners are unique in their own way, being the first time a UNILAG student emerged winner of Pharmanews Award, and Ezeofor, becoming the first female to win the Young Pharmacist Award.

She further admonished them to remain good ambassadors of Pharmanews wherever they find themselves, impacting lives in their communities through public health awareness programmes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here