Prof. Azuka Oparah Wins Dean’s Award 2023



Professor Azuka Oparah


Professor Azuka Oparah, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Benin (UNIBEN) has won the intensely contested award for the Dean of the Year 2023, having polled a total of 1539 votes from the online poll, which ended Monday.

Prof. Oparah, came first in the very competitive digital poll with the highest votes, while other candidates of Prof. Ighodaro Igbe, Igbinedion University Okada, had a total votes of 1386; Prof. Theophine C.Akunne, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu (COOU) polled 661 Votes; Prof. Margaret Olubunmi Afolabi, of Obafemi Awolowo University, had 432 votes; Prof. Chibueze Ihekwereme, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK) got 151 votes: and Prof. Benjamin U. Ebeshi (NDU) had 129 votes.

Strike: Negotiations ongoing with Resident Doctors to Resolve Issues – FG

The Dean of the Year Award is a novel introduction to the Pharmanews Online Poll series, which is specially designed for deans of Pharmacy faculties across the country. It was created to recognise deans of Pharmacy faculties who have contributed significantly to the development of their faculties.

In his congratulatory message to the winner, Pharmanews Publisher, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, said Prof. Oparah deserves the honour , as he is known for excellence performance.

“It is an award well deserved” Atueyi remarked, stating that that the award presentation ceremony date will be communicated to the winner in due course.

The Pharmanews boss has also appreciated other candidates for their noble efforts in the competition, but noted that since the award is designed for one person, it is certain that one of them must emerge the winner. He encouraged them to keep advancing the course of Pharmacy with the hope of becoming the next winner.

There are Enough Doctors in Nigeria –Health Minister

It will be recalled that the Pharmanews Online Poll series commenced with the Young Pharmacist of the Year in 2018 which saw Isa Muhammad as the winner of the maiden edition, followed by Frank Eze, winner of the 2019 edition of the competition, then Daniel Eze, 2021 winner, while Ozioma Ezeofor, won it in 2022.

The online contest was extended to the Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS) in 2019, named PANSite of the Year, with Yusuf Hassan Wada of Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto, as the winner of the maiden edition and the 2nd edition was won by Izukanne Emembolu of Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK). Martin Nwofia, student of Chukwuemeka Odumegbu Ojukwu University (COOU), won the 3rd edition; Jennifer Ekuma, a student of the University of Uyo (UNIUYO), won the 4tb edition, and Olasunkanmi Ahmed Ajilaran, was the lucky winner of the 5th edition.

Alcohol-Related Psychosis: A Rampant Malady






  1. Congratulations to my dear friend Prof. C.A. Opara for a well deserved honor. Hard work pays. Your friends are watching!
    Clem Ogu.

    • Congratulations my father for a well deserved crown. Prof. Azuka is a true father, not just to Pharmacy students but to every young blood that comes close to him. We are proud to know you Sir and more proud to be in contact with you…

      Once again, congrats Sir…. We love you

  2. Congratulations my super Prof OPARA. It is a well deserved honourable cap on your head.To God be all the glory.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here