Prof. Festus Okoye, Emerges Winner, Dean of the Year 2022



Prof. Festus Okoye, Emerges Winner, Dean of the Year 2022
Prof. Festus Okoye


Professor Festus B. C. Okoye, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK) has been declared winner of the keenly contested award for the Dean of the Year 2022, having polled a total of 44.99 per cent votes from the online poll, which ended Thursday.

Prof. Okoye came first in the highly competitive digital poll with total votes of 4491 (44.99%), while other candidates of Prof. M.U. Uhumwangho, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Benin (UNIBEN), had total votes of 4121, equivalent  to  41.29 per cent; Prof. Aderonke Adepoju-Bello, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos (UNILAG), got 574 votes, which was same as 5.75 per cent; Prof. Kenneth C. Ofokansi, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy , University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) polled total votes of 553, equivalent to 5.54 per cent; Prof. Theophine Akunne, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, (COOU), got 150 votes, which is also 1.50 per cent, and Prof. Uthman G. Sadiq, University of Maiduguri, polled total of 92 votes also known as 0.92 percent (UNIMAID).

Health Benefits of Scent Leaf

The Dean of the Year Award is a novel introduction to the Pharmanews Online Poll series, which is specially designed for deans of Pharmacy faculties across the country.  It was created to recognise deans of Pharmacy faculties who have contributed significantly to the development of their faculties.

Congratulating the winner for his excellent performance at the poll, Pharmanews Publisher, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, said Prof. Okoye has added a feather to his cap as the winner of the maiden edition of Dean of the Year Award.

“It is an award well deserved” Atueyi said, noting that the award presentation ceremony date will be communicated to him in due course.

CPAN Decorates Ohuabunwa, Mohammed with Special Awards

The Icon of Pharmacy also appreciated other deans who participated in the contest for their efforts, noting that since the award is designed for one person, certainly one of them must emerge the winner, while he acknowledged their perseverance during the poll. He encouraged them to keep advancing the course of Pharmacy with the hope of becoming the next winner.

It will be recalled that the Pharmanews Online Poll series commenced with the Young Pharmacist of the Year in 2018 which saw Isa Muhammad as the winner of the maiden edition, followed by Frank Eze, winner of the 2019 edition of the competition.

Redefining the Roles of Pharmacists

The online contest was extended to the Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS) in 2019, named PANSite of the Year, with Yusuf Hassan Wada of Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto, as the winner of the maiden edition and the second edition was won by Izukanne Emembolu of Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK). Martin Nwofia, student of Chukwuemeka Odumegbu Ojukwu University (COOU), won the third edition, and Jennifer Ekuma, a student of  the University of Uyo (UNIUYO), won the fourth edition.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here