Encomiums, as WWCVL, Alpha, Fidson, Clinch Independent Newspaper Awards 2023


…Buni, Abiodun, Oyebanji Bag Best Governors Awards

Pharm. (Sir) Ike Onyechi, managing director, Alpha Pharmacy Limited; Lady Chinelo Onyechi, executive director, Alpha Pharmacy, and Mr Naveen Pala, managing director, WWCVL, at the 13th edition of the Annual Independent Newspaper Award ceremony, held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

It was a celebration of excellence at the weekend as leading pharmaceutical companies, including Worldwide Wide Commercial Venture Limited (WWCVL), Alpha Pharmacy & Stores, and Fidson Healthcare Plc, bagged the Independent Newspapers Awards 2023 in recognition of their contributions to the health sector.

The 13th Edition of the annual award ceremony, which was titled, ‘Celebrating Excellence’, took place at the Eko Hotels and Suites in Lagos, organised by the Independent Newspaper Limited (INL), publishers of Daily Independent, Saturday Independent, and Sunday Independent.

Among other categories, Alpha Pharmacy bagged an award for the ‘Retail Pharmacy Company of the Year’, while the WWCV and Fidson won, Pharmaceutical Distribution Company of the Year, and Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Company of the Year respectively.

Leading the Alpha Pharmacy team to the august occasion was its respected Managing Director, Pharm. (Sir) Ike Onyechi, and Executive Director, his wife, Lady Chinelo Onyechi, while the WWCVL delegates and that of Fidson were led by the Managing Director, WWCVL Mr Naveen Pala, and representative of the Fidson Managing Director, Mr Friday Enaholo, respectively.

Supply Chain Management Strategies Key to Profitability in Business, Says PMG-MAN
A cross-section of the dignitaries at the 13th Edition of the Annual Independent Newspaper Award ceremony, held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos

Among other awardees were the Yobe State governor, Mai Mala Buni, who bagged the Man of the Year Award; Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State as the Tech Innovative Governor of the Year; Barr. Caleb Mutfwang of Plateau State, received the award for Governor of the Year (Community Empowerment); while the Governor of Taraba State, Dr Agbu Kefas, bagged the award for Governor of the Year (Education & Youth Empowerment).

Other governors who received the INL prestigious award were the Governor of Enugu State, Peter Ndubuisi Mbah, who clinched the Governor of the Year (Urban Development) award; Governor of Gombe State, Gov. Inuwa Yahaya, who won the Governor of the Year Award (Health); Governor Biodun Oyebanji of Ekiti State for Governor of the Year (Community Development) award, and Akwa Ibom State governor, Pastor Umo Eno, who was recognized with the Governor of the Year (Fiscal Discipline) award.

Other top personalities honoured at the awards ceremony included Dr Tajudeen Abass, speaker of the House of Representatives, who bagged the Legislator of the Year (National) Award, as well as Chief Olabode Ibiyinka George and Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, who were both honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

COVID-19: Minister Commends Radiologists Role in Health Sector

The Security Company of the Year award was received by Tantita Security Services Nigeria Limited, for its competence in pipeline surveillance, and Seplat Petroleum Development Company (Indigenous Oil Company of the Year), among others.

The Royal Father of the Day was His Majesty, Ogiame Atunwase III, the Olu of Warri, while former Governor of Ogun State, Aremo Olusegun Osoba chaired the memorable occasion.

Earlier in his address, the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer, Independent Newspapers, Steve Omanufeme, said that for the year 2023, the company was able to identify and recognise those who had performed excellently in their various areas of endeavour.

“The awardees were selected strictly based on their achievements while in office in 2023 without compromising the newspaper’s integrity as the most credible newspaper in Nigeria, with millions of followers to its credit,” Omanufeme said.

23-Year-Old UI Undergraduate Wins Ibucap Contest

Chairman of the occasion, Olusegun Osoba, said: “Tonight is not a night of speeches but a night to honour awardees across all areas, including political, religion, and culture.”

He commended INL, including members of the award committee, for their abilities to select these high-class recipients who were honoured, saying he was happy that one of our respected kings in the country is also being honoured,” he said.

He commended the Olu of Warri, Ogiame Atuwaswe 111, represented by the Awee Warri Kingdom, for honouring the occasion.

Also, Chief Bode George appealed to Nigerians to remain united and build the country, stressing that this was not time for politics while expressing the strong belief that no part of Nigeria should be treated as second class.

While thanking the Independent Newspaper for the honour done to him and his family, he added that the honour would remain indelible. We must remain one to build our nation. This is not the time for politics.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here