Mora, Mohammed, Atueyi Extol Virtues of Hard Work as PCN Immortalises Past Leaders



L-R: Registrar, PCN, Pharm. (Dr) N.A.E Mohammed; Chairman, Governing Council,PCN, Prof. Ahmed Tijjani Mora, and Pharmanews Publisher, Pharm. (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, at the event.

The reward for hard work and dedication to service were celebrated as the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) immortalised its past Chairmen of Council and Registrars by naming the PCN auditorium and committee rooms after them. 

The event which took place at the PCN Zonal Office in Lagos on Monday, 8 March 2021, was attended by family members of the past leaders both living and dead.

Chairman of the Governing Council of the PCN, Professor Ahmed Tijjani Mora, lauded the contributions of the past leaders to the Pharmacy profession, adding that their dedication to duty helped bring the profession to the pride of place it presently occupies in Nigeria.

“We are here today to celebrate excellence in the Pharmacy profession essentially through the instrumentality of the immortalisation of those pharmacists, deceased or alive, who have given their all to bring the profession to occupy its pride of place, by the naming of the auditorium and/or committee rooms within this newly completed facility, which is one of the seven physical structures constructed or remodelled and owned by the PCN as fixed assets across the nation, after these distinguished personalities”, he said.

Speaking also, the PCN Registrar, Pharm. (Dr) N.A.E Mohammed, thanked the leadership of the Council, the Federal Ministry of Health and the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) for their support to the PCN since inception to the present time.

Pharmanews Publisher, Pharm. (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, who was a special guest at the event used the occasion to encourage pharmacists who hold both private and public offices to do their best by making great contributions to the Pharmacy profession in Nigeria and beyond. He also eulogised some of the past PCN leaders whom he had worked with closely, saying that the great contributions they have made are today speaking for them.

The past Chairmen of Council of the PCN, formerly PBN (Pharmacy Board of Nigeria) immortalised are: Pharm. Dame Patience Oviasu; Professor Etienne E. Essien; Professor Gabriel E. Osuide and Professor Festus Adio Ogunbona. Others are Professor Elijah Ndajiya Sokomba; Pharm. Bruno Nwankwo and Late Chief (Sir) Andrew Adu Egboh.

The list of past Registrars/Secretaries of the PCN immortalised are: Late Pharm. A.O. Sonubi; Late Pharm. S.O. Coker; Pharm. Moses Azuike; Late Pharm. Mrs. Jolasun Okusanya and Pharm. Ademola Albert Brown. Others are Pharm. Hanatu D. Kayit; Late Pharm. Abdulazeez S. Rafindadi and Professor Ahmed Tijjani Mora.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here