New NAFDAC DG visits Academy of Pharmacy


Distinguished pharmacists under the umbrella of the Nigeria Academy of Pharmacy (NAPharm) warmly received the new Director General of NAFDAC, Prof. Christianah Mojisola  Adeyeye, at the Business School Netherlands, Ikeja, on 6th December.

Prof. Adeyeye, who is also a Fellow of the Academy, expressed great delight with the opportunity to share ideas with individuals and various representatives of the profession and pharmaceutical industry. She disclosed that she had already embarked on restructuring of the agency and had already moved round six directors.

According to her, she is impatient with mediocrity. She promised to tackle alleged corruption in the system and establish stronger relationship with the Food & Drugs Administration (FDA) of USA.

Testing of COVID-19 is Still Free in Lagos – State’s Commissioner
NAPharm executives, in a round table meeting with NAFDAC DG, Prof. Mojisola Adeyeye

She also pledged to immediately reduce delays in the registration of products and equip the laboratories.

In his welcome address, the President of the Nigeria Academy of Pharmacy, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, OFR, mni, said the appointment of Prof. Adeyeye as the Director General was the best decision by the Federal Government of Nigeria and assured her of the cooperation of all pharmacists collectively and individually.

The President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) Pharm. Ahmed Yakasai, emphasised the need for tackling the open drug markets in Onitsha, Aba and Kano, in particular. He insisted that the National Drug Distribution Guidelines (NDDG) should be implemented by January 2019 as scheduled by the Government.

NAFDAC Set to Intensify War against Fake, Substandard Medicines
L-R: Pharm. Paul Enebeli; Prof. Fola Tayo, general secretary of NAPharm; Pharm. Clare Omatseye, president, Healthcare Federation of Nigeria; Prof. Christianah Mojisola Adeyeye, director general of NAFDAC; Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, NAPharm president; and Pharm. Ahmed Yakasai, PSN president.

The meeting which was attended by Fellows of the Nigeria Academy of Pharmacy and representatives of different interest groups and technical sections of the PSN received several comments and suggestions.

Among those present were Pharm. Ifeanyi Atueyi, vice president of NAPharm; Prof. Fola Tayo, general secretary of NAPharm; Pharm. Paul Enebeli; Pharm. Elijah Mohammed, PCN registrar; Pharm. Nnamdi Obi, president of APIN; Pharm. Lekan Asuni, chairman of NIROPharm;  Pharm. Ignatius Anukwu, chairman of NAIP; Pharm. Clare Omatseye, president, Healthcare Federation of Nigeria; and Pharm. ‘Lere Baale.

Others include Dr Monica Eimunjeze, NAFDAC; Pharm. Ike Onyechi, treasurer, NAPharm; Prof. Cecilia Igwilo; Pharm. Calixthus Okoruwa; Dr Lolu Ojo; William Effiok, NAFDAC;  and Christiana Obiazikwor of NAFDAC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here