Ohuabunwa Wins Pharmalliance Leadership Award


-As Mordi, others win in other categories

In appreciation of his contribution to the society in less than nine month of his assumption into office, Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) has been voted as 2019 winner of Pharmalliance Leadership Award.

The award presentation which took place at the 11th edition of The Panel summit held at Classique Event Centre, Oregun, Lagos on 7 August, 2019.

Ohuabunwa Wins Pharmalliance Leadership Award
L-R: Pharm. Bukky George, managing director, HealthPlus Pharmacy, presenting the Pharmalliance Leadership Award to Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) at the event.

Organised under the aegis of Pharmalliance Network, The Panel summit, has continued to enjoy rave reviews among young pharmacy professionals, community pharmacists and pharmaceutical giants like HealthPlus, Alpha Pharmacy, Biofem Pharmaceuticals, PharmacyPlus, New Heights, Sylken Pharma and Vanguard Pharmacy.

According to Pharm. Adeshina Opanubi, convener of the programme, recipients of such award are usually pharmacy professionals who have passed through the leadership rank of Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Association of Industrial Pharmacists of Nigeria (NAIP), National Association of Pharmacists in Academia (NAPA) as well as Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria (ACPN).

Oyo PSN Courts Gov Makinde, Others on Collaboration in Health Sector

He further explained that The Panel is an annual summit aimed at bringing innovation into retail pharmacy business across Africa.

Ohuabunwa Wins Pharmalliance Leadership Award
R-L: Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) presenting a sculptured-portrait to Dr Leo Stan Ekeh, keynote speaker at The Panel 2019 programme.

In other categories, Pharm. Chiedu Mordi, immediate past chairman, PSN Board of Fellows, clinched Pharmalliance Retail Legend Award and Pharm. Hakeem Ikolaba, founder, Pill Box Pharmacy won Pharmalliance Retail Inspiration Award. The Moxie YPG Challenge produced three winners – Pharm. Tosin Adeyemi (N250, 000), Kester Onwuka (N150, 000) and Israel Oni (N100, 000).

Pharm. Amaju Ezenduka clinched the four-day luxury ticket to Dubai (courtesy of Reload Multivitamins) while Vicamen Pharmacy was announced as the lucky winner of Ford SUV on display at the event.

Adelusi-Adeluyi, Akinyanju bag 2016 NHEA Lifetime Achievement Award

In his keynote delivery, Dr Leo Stan Ekeh, founder of Zinox Technologies challenged participants to always innovate instead of seeking to duplicate somebody’s products.

Speaking on the theme, ‘Disrupt or be disrupted,' Ekeh encouraged pharmacists to learn to anticipate the future.

While narrating his journey to the top in the corporate world, the Zinox boss noted that it took him grit and gut to be where he is today.

“For every entrepreneur, your passion must pay your bill. Trying to associate yourself with most of these Nigerian billionaires will ruin you. Of course, many of you have seen how much they owe in the papers.

May and Baker promotes three senior management officers

“What many of them do is to engage the media to package them as self-made billionaires to scam people abroad. This is why I keep saying we have serious leadership challenge in this country,” he bemoaned.

Aside keynote session, there were five clinical masterclasses facilitated by Prof. Anthonia Ogbera, consultant endocrinologist and Provost of LASUCOM and other seasoned healthcare professionals.

In addition to trends and shared intelligence that has become the trademark of The Panel programme, gifts and prizes were also won by participating delegates.

The sponsors at this year’s event included Business School Netherlands, Reckitt Benckiser, Pfizer, GSK, Molfix, Moxie, Nett Pharmacy, Bydow Pharmacy Bayer, New heights, Oakleaf, Servier, Johnson and Johnson, Janssen, Sanofi among others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here