Sanwo-Olu Hails, as Mopson Boss, Idoko, Hassan Bag NHEA Lifetime Achievement Awards


… Alpha, Nett, Ecomed, win other categories

Pharm. (Dr) M.O Paul, chairman, Mopson Pharmaceutical Limited (Middle), displaying his award plaque and certificate.

In what many have described as oscar of the health sector, the Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA), has received a commendation from the First Lady of Lagos State, Mrs Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, saying the awards ceremony is not only focused on celebrating excellence in various areas of medical practice, but also designed as a platform to engender intellectual conversation on topical issues in healthcare delivery.

Mrs Sanwo-Olu, who was a guest of honour at the award dinner, jointly organised by Global Health Project & Resources (GHPR) in collaboration with Anadach Group in the United States, noted that the theme of the event “Investing in strengthening our health system”, was not only apt but timely, as it brought to the fore, the need to address the big elephants in the room as far as healthcare services are concerned.

She said we cannot shy away from discussing how to strengthen, intensify and sustain critical investment in the health system, as this is strategically important towards improving the health and well-being of all Nigerians, adding that our health system should be based on the principle of universality, equity and sustainability.


L-R: Pharm.(Mrs) Bisi Bright, chief executive officer, LWI, presenting an award plaque to Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, publisher, Pharmanews (middle), in company of the Editor, Pharmanews, Mr Patrick Iwelunmor at the award ceremony.


The Wife of the Governor, who was represented by Dr Cecilia Mabogunje, chief executive officer, Massey Street Children Hospital, Lagos, however, attributed the mass exodus of healthcare professionals from the country to the lack of adequate infrastructure and remuneration packages, adding that as a government, the Sanwoolu administration has been working to positively change the narrative with regard to scaling up investments in healthcare infrastructure and expanding access.

Atueyi Bags Outstanding Professional Leadership Award of Inside Business Africa

“This has resulted in the completion of various healthcare facilities, initiation of new ones and improved welfare of healthcare professionals, all to ensure that people have access to prompt, efficient, affordable and accessible healthcare services”.

She continued, “For me, we cannot successfully discuss strengthening investment in health systems without considering the welfare and interest of healthcare providers like the Doctors, Nurses, Pharmacists, Lab Scientists and all other stakeholders in the healthcare ecosystem. We must invest in training and retraining and make the atmosphere conducive for our healthcare professionals to display their skills and talents. The truth is Nigeria is blessed with talented healthcare professionals who are making us proud worldwide daily.”

Speaking during the presentation ceremony, she commended the Board of Trustees of the NHEA and all partners behind the project for sustaining the initiative of giving honour to whom honour is due in the healthcare sector, she also congratulated all the awardees and as well urge them to continue on the trajectory of exceptional and outstanding contributions to the healthcare sector.

Pharm. IG Anukwu, erstwhile national chairman of NAIP (middle), and other Alpha Pharmacy Staff displaying their award plaque and certificate at the event.

At the event, three healthcare professionals who had distinguished themselves in various health fields were presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards. The awardees are Pharm. (Dr) Michael Oyebanjo Paul, an astute businessman and pharmacist of great repute, a distinguished pharmaceutical professional and chairman, Mopson Pharmaceutical Limited; Dr Mathew Ame Idoko, a quintessential and committed paediatrician, a highly accomplished and experienced medical professional with a distinguished career spanning several decades, and Dr Adekunle Hassan, a visionary leader and pioneer in Eyecare, and founder, chief medical director, Eye Foundation Hospital.

Ahmed Yakasai award produces first winner

In other categories of the award for this year, Special recognition awards were given to Dr Faruk Umar Abubakar, registrar and chief executive officer, Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria; Prof Dimie Ogoina, an esteemed professor of Medicine and Infectious Diseases at Niger Delta University, Bayelsa State; Procold, Nigeria’s premier non-drowsy remedy for cold, flu and catarrh; and Smile Train, the largest cleft focused organization.

Several other organisations continued their winning streak, including JNCI, Biomedical Engineering Company of the Year; Clina-Lancet Laboratories, Private Laboratory Service Provider of the Year; Clinix Healthcare, Radiology Service Provider of the Year; St Nicholas Hospital, Dialysis Service Provider of the Year; The Bridge Clinic, IVF Service Provider of the year; ISN Products Nigeria Limited, Laboratory Equipment Company of the year.

This year’s Pharmaceutical Awards went to Nett Pharmacy, as Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year; Alpha Pharmacy and Stores Limited, Community Pharmacy of the Year, and Ecomed, as a pharmaceutical manufacturing company of the Year.

The Chairman, Advisory Board of NHEA Dr Anthony Omolola, applauded the contributions of all the nominees and winners to the development of the healthcare sector in the country, adding that over the years, NHEA has continued to strive to deliver new and creative ways to honour excellence across the healthcare space.

Prof. Eradiri Becomes Fellow of Royal Pharmaceutical Society

He stated that nominations opened in February 2023 and closed in May 2023 with over 20,000 nominations received in several categories, saying the entire process was keenly contested with healthy rivalry amongst several nominees leading to optimal service delivery and improved service performance year in and year out.

“On our part, our processes have continued to improve with better online voting on the NHEA voting portal. NHEA visitation teams went to certain categories of nominees to evaluate claims of nominees across the country. Over 50,000 online votes were received for all nominees this year and the selection process was carefully evaluated”, he said

Dignitaries at the event included Pharm. (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, publisher, Pharmanews; Dr Atinuke Onayiga, chairman, Lagos State Health Service Commission; Mrs Edith Egube, members, Committee of Wives of Lagos State Officials; Mrs Chinyere Okorocha, treasurer, Healthcare Federation of Nigeria; HRM Oba Abdulhafees Olakunle Badiru, Elejigbo of Langbasa Kingdom, Langbasa, Ajah, Lagos State; Dr Olaokun Soyinka, former Ogun State Commissioner for Health, among many others.




























Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here