SPSMN will Drive Positive Change, Says Oyeniran


-As Society Inducts Fellows

L-R: Pharm. Moses Oluwalade, MD, Miraflash Nig. Ltd; Mr Femi Soremekun, MD, Biofem Group, and special guest of honour; Pharm. John Nwaiwu, MD, JB pharmaceuticals Ltd, and chairman of the occasion; and Pharm. Tunde Oyeniran, president, Society for Pharmaceutical Sales and Marketing of Nigeria (SPSMN), at the event.

The challenges besetting the pharma sales and marketing sector in Nigeria will soon be overcome through knowledge sharing, innovation and commitment to professionalism. These were the words of the President of the Society for Pharmaceutical Sales and Marketing of Nigeria (SPSMN), Pharm. Tunde Oyeniran, during the group’s induction ceremony and investiture of fellows, held at the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Lagos on Thursday 15 June, 2023.

While reiterating SPSMN’s commitment towards providing a unified platform for all sales and marketing practitioners in Nigeria’s pharmaceutical sector, irrespective of their educational background, Oyeniran harped on the mission of his society to be a trailblazer for positive change.

“In the face of the challenges that the pharmaceutical sector encounters, SPSMN aims to be at the forefront of driving positive change. We recognise the importance of knowledge and training, ethics, integrity and collaboration with stakeholders to ensure the ethical use, sales, and promotion of drugs and medicines in Nigeria,” he said.

NAIP to Hold 2024 Economic Outlook, CEO’s Forum

According to Oyeniran, in order to sustain the value which SPSMN would be adding to the Nigerian pharma sector, plans have been concluded for the commencement of activities such as monthly round table discussion, national conference and pharma marketing awards and annual business review. Others are quarterly professional development training and quarterly breakfast meetings.

Inducted Fellows Taking their membership oath.

The event which witnessed the presence of some of the best brains in the Nigerian pharmaceutical industry was chaired by distinguished pharmacist and Managing Director of JB Pharmaceuticals Limited, Pharm. John Nwaiwu while the Managing Director of Biofem Pharmaceuticals Limited, Mr Femi Soremekun, was the special guest of honour.

In his capacity as chairman of the event, Nwaiwu extoled the efforts of Oyeniran and his national executive council in putting together a professional body of pharma sales and marketing people. He urged them to make it professional in all ramifications while working to sustain its relevance and overall impact on the Nigerian pharmaceutical landscape.

Speaking as the special guest of honour, Soremekun expressed his delight and excitement that SPSMN has been established to foster trainings and engagements that would move the pharmaceutical industry forward in terms of growth and development as far as sales and marketing are concerned.

Reckitt Benckiser celebrates 50 years of Dettol in Nigeria

On his part, the Managing Director of Miraflash Nigeria Limited, Pharm. Moses Oluwalade, added that the pharmaceutical industry in Nigeria has come of age with the establishment of the SPSMN. He said the society is a timely and laudable addition to the pharma space. “The SPSMN will definitely add value to the industry by elevating the level of thinking, innovation and expertise in the industry”, he said. Oluwalade also enjoined the society to promote the availability of quality pharmaceutical products in Nigeria while calling for discipline in their conduct and mode of practice.

The high point of the event witnessed the award of fellowship and honorary fellowship to deserving persons. The following were inducted as fellows of the SPSMN: Pharm. Tolufase Olufunke Yewande; John Godwin; Oyeniran Olutunde Oyetunji; Pharm. Bowoto Abimbola Owolabi; Ishael Tunde Bolaji; Pharm. Afunwa Emmanuel Chijindu;  Ajala Babafemi Olusola; Pharm. David Haruna Ayele; Dr David Ehikhuemen;  Pharm. Bakau Oyinloye Alli;  Pharm. Olusola Akande;  Pharm. Gbenga Falabi;  Afolabi Olufemi Adeola; Omojola Temitope Oluwatosin;  Dada Olukayode Olatunde and Pharm. Adebayo Adedayo.

Alpha Pharmacy Unveils Victoria Island Outlet

Others are Olaogun James Olusanjo; Mustua Ali Ariwala;  Pharm. Bantale Olakunle; Pharm. Ochai Adejoh; Pharm. Alawode Olaolu Olusegun; Pharm. Michael Odediran; and Pharm. Ajagunna Ayodeji Olubunmi.

Those awarded honorary fellowship are Mr Sammy Ogunjimi, MD, Codix Healthcare;  Pharm. Lekan Asuni, MD, Lefas Pharmaceutical Limited; Dr Lolu Ojo, MD, Merit Healthcare Limited; Mr Femi Soremekun, MD, Biofem Group;  Mr Ade Adebola, MD, Leo Tetra Pharmaceuticals; and Pharm. Ike Okele, MD, Superior Pharmaceuticals Limited.

Others are Bayo Adepoju, GM, Sterling Biopharma Limited; Pharm. Moses Oluwalade, MD, Miraflash Nigeria Limited; and Professor Thoephine Akunne, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu University, Igbariam, Anamabra State.

Two associates and seventeen members were also inducted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here