Yakasai, Others Hail Pharmanews’ Emergence As Best Health Journal


-As Ohuabunwa, Emzor, Medplus, others win in other categories

In yet another recognition of its outstanding contribution to health journalism in Nigeria and beyond, Pharmanews has been declared Best Healthcare Medium (Print) of the Year by the Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Awards (NHEA).

Living up to its reputation as the leading global health journal, the 38-year-old publication beat the likes of THISDAY, Pharma Times, Med-Q and Health Box to clinch the prestigious award.

The colourful presentation ceremony, which took place at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on 23 June, 2017 had several doctors, pharmacists, nurses, officials of health management organsations (HMOs) and other stakeholders in the health sector in attendance.

Prior to the announcement of winners in the various award categories, organisers of the event disclosed that a number of factors, such as online voting by the public, input by its board of advisors, as well as contributions from healthcare providers were considered before deciding on award winners.

Dr Anthony Omolola, chairman, Advisory Board for the 2017 award, said that the award had gained confidence following increased recognitions and active participation of the industry stakeholders.

Rivers State University Nkpolu-Oroworukwo Port Harcourt Admission For 2021/2022 Academic Session For Pre-degree Programme

“Since inception in 2014, NHEA has engendered more awareness and focus on quality and standard of services provided by several health stakeholders in the industry by inspiring them to adopt international best practices and aspire to be the benchmark for excellent healthcare delivery in Nigeria and Africa in general”, Dr. Omolola said.

Receiving the award amidst a standing ovation, Dozie Atueyi, executive director of Pharmanews Limited, declared that the honour being accorded the company was a result of the revolutionary vision the founder, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, whose resilience has seen the publication weather the storm in the last 37 years.

This latest feat by Pharmanews has since continued to attract an avalanche of congratulatory messages from within and outside the health sector.

Leading the train of well-wishers was Pharm Ahmed Yakasai, president, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) who noted that the impact of Pharmanews in the health industry has been tremendous.

Study Shows Exercise Improves Learning and Memory in Young Adults

Alo Setofunmi Adeyinka, president, Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS), equally noted that, even without the latest recognition, it was an established fact that Pharmanews had been blazing the trail in health journalism for more than three decades.

Reuben Emelone and Adamma Obikili, both pharmacists, disclosed that the NHEA honour was a landmark achievement for both the managing director and the entire staff of Pharmanews.

In the senior citizens category of the award, Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, former managing director of Neimeth Pharmaceuticals and Prof. (Mrs) Ibironke Akinsete, an eminent haematologist, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Also, in what came as a surprise to many, Medplus Pharmacy clinched the Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year award, beating three-time winner of the previous editions of the award, HealthPlus Pharmacy, as well as Nett Pharmacy and Mopheth Pharmacy.

In other categories, Emzor Pharmaceuticals won the Pharmaceutical Operational Excellence Manufacturing Company of the Year award; Healthcare Information Technology Provider of the Year award went to Armpersonal Logistics; Nursing and Midwifery Excellence award was clinched by Prof. Ezekiel Olasunkanmi Ajao of Babcock university; Healthcare Media Award (Electronics) was won by Mary Alale-Yusuf of Health Matters (Channels TV); while Diamond Bank picked the Healthcare friendly Financial Institution of the Year award.

International Researchers Visit Bond Chemical Industries

Additionally, Safermom won Pharmaaccess Innovative Healthcare Service Provider of the Year; while the Health Maintenance Organisation (HMO) of the Year category was won by Total Health Trust Limited. Lagoon Hospitals won Private Healthcare Provider of the Year. Tertiary Healthcare Provider of the Year went to Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano; while Pathcare Laboratories emerged the Private Laboratory Services Provider of the Year.

Other  award categories were Radiology Provider of the Year – Clinix Healthcare Lagos; Dental Service Provider of the Year – Smile 360 Dental Specialist; Eye Care Service Provider of the Year – Eye Foundation Hospital; IVF Service Provider of the Year – Nordica Fertility Centre; Physiotherapy Service Provider of the Year – Body Mechanics Physiotherapy and Wellness Centre; and Dialysis Service Provider of the Year – Renal Dialysis Limited



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here