Grand Winners Emerge in Shalina Young Talents Awards Season 3



L-R: Mr Folorunsho Alaran, marketing manager (West Africa), Shalina Healthcare; Ms Okafor Cynthia Chidera, University of Ibadan, 2nd Runner Up; Ms Zakariya Farida, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Winner, Shalina Young Talents Award, Season 3; Oyenyi Adedoyin Emmanuel, University of Lagos, 1st Runner Up; and Mr Arun Raj, Vice President/ Head, Shalina West Africa at the National Grand finale of SYTA 2021 held in Lagos recently.

National grand winners have emerged in this year’s Shalina Young Talents Awards (SYTA) organised by Shalina Healthcare, a leading pharmaceutical company in Nigeria.

They emerged after a keenly contested competition amongst the final year pharmacy students in universities across Nigeria.

The grand event took place in Lagos recently at the Radisson Hotel, where Ms Zakariya Farida of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State; Oyeniyi Adedoyin Emmanuel, of the University of Lagos; Idi- Araba, Lagos State and Ms Okafor Cynthia Chidera, of the University of Ibadan, Oyo State emerged the Grand Winner, 1st Runner up and 2nd Runner Up respectively.

According to the Vice- President & Head – West Africa Shalina Healthcare, Arun Raj, the” Shalina Young Talents Awards (SYTA) is a Value-Added Initiative designed to bring the best out of pharmacy students in Nigeria.

Encomiums as Arinola Joda Becomes Associate Professor

“This pharmacy contest tagged ‘The Quest for the Best Pharmacy Brains in Nigeria’ began in August with Zonal Championship Contests. The zonal winners who emerged from the University of Lagos, University of Ibadan, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria competed for the coveted crown at the grand finale where the national winners emerged.

“In this process, we had put in place, the right resources and appropriate structure to ensure that the best brains in the Nigerian universities emerged in the exercise”, Arun said.

Speaking in the same regard, Folorunso Alaran, the head of corporate marketing said, “the contest had indeed lived up to its aim and objectives”.

He stated, “this is the 3rd edition of the academic contest and had been an improvement from the past editions. From zonal levels where great numbers of students participated in the grand finale where the zonal champions slugged it out among themselves, it had been a battle of wits, excellence, and ideas. Eventually, the national winner had emerged, endorsed by our respected panel of judges made up of Deans of the Faculties of Pharmacy”.

Cancer Patients Could Enjoy Total Cure if Detected Early – Experts

About her experience in the competition, the grand winner, who was visibly elated at the event, Farida said the contest had allowed her to study more and had also spurred her to double her efforts to ensure she remained focus.

Appreciating the organisers of the academic contest, Farida said “Shalina Healthcare must be well acknowledged for their contribution to the development of the pharmaceutical industry in Nigeria and most especially in creating a competitive platform for pharmacy students to drive best standards in pharmacy study through the Shalina Young Talents Award (SYTA)”.

The event witnessed a roll call of top Pharmacy professionals and personalities led by the Special Guest of Honour and the number one Pharmacist in the country, the President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Prof. Cyril Odianose Usifo, and the National Secretary – Pharm Gbenga Falabi.

Scientist Lists Dangers of Homemade Bleaching Creams

Others are Pharm. Ken Onuegbu, national chairman, NAIP; Pharm. Adewale Oladigbolu, national chairman, ACPN; Pharm. Olabode Ajayi Ogunjemiyo, national chairman, AHAPN; Dr Ezekiel Olugbenga Akinkunmi, national chairman, NAPA; Pharm. Folasade Lawal, MD/CEO Victory Drugs, representing National Chairman, CPAN; Pharm (Chief) Yetunde Moroundiya, vice-chairman, Board of Fellows representing National Chairman, ALPS, to mention a few.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here