Ibezim Takes a Bow as NAPA Elects New Executives


The Nigeria Association of Pharmacists in the Academia (NAPA) has elected new executives that will steer the affairs of the association in the next three years.

The new executives were elected at the just concluded 19th National Scientific Conference of the association, held at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State.

At the end of the elections, Dr Ezekiel Olugbenga Akinkunmi, emerged the national chairman. Dr Akinkunmi takes over from Prof. Emmanuel Ibezim, after serving the association meritoriously for two years.

Until his emergence as the national chairman of NAPA, Akinkunmi was the chairman of the Obafemi Awolowo University branch of the Association. At the national level, he has served as Secretary, Website Committee; Member, Professional Allowance Committee; Member, NAPA Directory Committee and Member, NAPA Council. He was also a member of the communique committee at the 17th National Scientific Conference held in Abuja.

WHO to Rename Monkeypox, Publishes Guideline on Vaccination
Professoe Emmanuel C. Ibezim

Akinkunmi has reviewed papers both for conferences and the NAPA Journal, Nigeria Journal of Pharmaceutical Research and has reviewed for over thirty years other highly revered academic journals. He was Associate Editor, Nigerian Journal of Pharmaceutical Research and is an Editorial Board Member of the African Journal of Infectious Diseases. He has also served as Editor and Member of Council of Osun State PSN.

Aside from being a member of PSN, the new NAPA Chairman is a member of American Society for Microbiology; Copyright Society of Nigeria; International Network for Rational Use of Drugs; Science Advisory Board and ProMed International.

Other members of the newly elected National Executive of NAPA include Dr Funmi Fisusi, who was elected as the vice- chairman; Dr Adebanjo Jonathan Adegbola, national secretary; Dr Idris Oyemitan- financial secretary; Dr Adedayo Adepiti, treasurer and Pharm. Ibrahim Eniayewu, assistant national secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here