IPSF to Host 2018 African Pharma Symposium in Nigeria


African regional office of the International Pharmaceutical Students’ Federation (IPSF) has announced that the global body has concluded arrangement that the next African pharma symposium will hold in the country.

This was disclosed when a reception committee comprising 10 pharmacy students and graduates chosen from different parts of Nigeria paid a visit to Pharmanews corporate office in Lagos recently.

Ms. Akudo Alli, a pharmacy undergraduate from Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Anambra State and chairperson of the committee said that the African Pharma symposium, scheduled for June 2018, is to be hosted by the Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students (PANS), a registered member of the African regional office.

L-R: Solomon Ojigbo, Pharmanews IT specialist; Yusuff Moshood, editor, Pharmanews; Ajibade Olubukunmi, international campus ambassador (UNILAG), World Healthcare Students’ Symposium (WHSS); Chinazor Ojukwu, IPSF reception committee member (UNIZIK); Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, managing director, Pharmanews Limited; Akudo Alli, IPSF chairperson, reception committee; Shontelle Iyamerri, IPSF reception committee member (UNIUYO); Emmanuel Adegoke, IPSF reception committee member (UNILAG); Adaobi Okeke, IPSF reception committee member (OAU) and  WHSS international campus ambassador and Joel Omikunle, business development manager, Pharmanews Limited.

According to her, the African Regional Office established in 2008 at the 54th World Congress in Cluj-Napoca, Romania, serves as the umbrella for the National Pharmaceutical Students Associations in the continent.

“Every year, the Office organizes an African Pharmaceutical Symposium (AfPS) which caters for pharmacy students within its region. The first AfPS was hosted by Algeria in the year 2012.

PANS Nigeria, after a very tough bidding process at the 5th AfPS in Mombasa, Kenya, in 2016 has been granted the mandate to host the 7th AfPS,” she noted.

Health & Safety Tips to Survive the Sandstorm Season

The 7th AfPS with theme: Inspiring the future of healthcare in Africa: Innovation, Economy and Sustainable Development, is set to hold in the beautiful, bustling megacity of Lagos and no fewer than 500 delegates (based on projections from previous symposia) with about 40% Nigerian representation are expected.

The symposium will mark the 10th anniversary of the African Regional Office.

The Reception Committee intends to deliver a well-rounded event that caters to the social and educative needs of our various delegates while showcasing the rich cultural heritage and beautiful landscape of our beloved country. To cater for the educational needs of our delegates, there would be experienced speakers to educate the delegates on a wide range of topics that would have direct and future impact on the African Pharmacy Student/Graduate, shining a bright light on the working theme. Workshops that focus on enhancing the clinical and patient counselling skills of the delegates would be executed, developing the much needed versatility of the delegates beyond the classroom.

For the record, IPSF is an international nongovernmental organization founded on the 25th of August 1949. It has its headquarters at The Hague, The Netherlands. IPSF has a membership of 350,000 Pharmacy students and recent graduates up to 4 years post graduation from over 80 countries. It is the oldest faculty-based student organization. IPSF official languages are English, Arabic, French and Spanish.

Foundation Trains 30,000 Kaduna Academic Staff on Gender-Based Violence

The IPSF executive consists of 10 elected members. Currently, the chairperson of professional development is Ms. Juliet Onyinyechi Obi (PANS, Nigeria). The executive also include co-opted members such as chairperson of the Congress Reception Committee and Regional Chairpersons. The current Chairperson of the African Regional Office (AfRO) is Mr. Arinze Awiligwe (PANS, Nigeria).

The IPSF Regional Office is a functional extension of the IPSF Executive structured by elected Pharmacy students of a specific IPSF region, forming a Regional Working Group.

There are 5 regional offices namely African Regional Office (AfRO) – Established in 2008; Asia Pacific Regional Office (APRO) – Established in 1999; Eastern Mediterranean Regional Office (EMRO) – Established in 2008; European Regional Office (EuRO) – Established in 2013 and Pan American Regional Office (PARO) – Established in 1999.

50 die in Kogi of symptoms like convulsion, red eyes, headache

As earlier mentioned, the reception committee consists of 10 Pharmacy students and recent graduates from different parts of Nigeria with great leadership and management skills and experience to be applied in the successful hosting of this epic event.

The committee members include:

Ms. Akudo Alli – Chairperson (Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Anambra State)

Ms. Ethel Mba – Secretary (Recent graduate, University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State)

Ms. Adaobi Okeke – Treasurer (Recent graduate, Obafemi Awolowo University, Osun State)

Mr. Ikenna Amafili – Public Relations Officer (Recent graduate, University of Nigeria, Enugu State)

Ms. Iyameni Ekawu – Events Coordinator (Recent graduate, University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State)

Mr. Stephen Tayanwa – Registration Officer (Recent graduate, Obafemi Awolowo University, Osun State)

Mr. Aminu  Hashidu – Scientific and Educational Coordinator  (Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto State)

Mr. Chukwukaelo Iyizoba – Cultural and Social Coordinator (Recent graduate, University of Nigeria, Enugu State)

Mr. Aiseosa Igharo – Logistics Coordinator (Igbinedion University, Edo State)

Mr. Kelvin Agbo – Marketing Coordinator (Recent graduate, University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here