Reconstitute PCN board, community pharmacists tell FG


As Lagos ACPN holds 2017 AGM

The Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria ACPN, Lagos State Chapter has called on the Federal Government to as a matter of urgency reconstitute the board of the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN), which was dissolved over a year ago, saying each time boards of the council and other health professions are dissolved, there are setbacks to the operation of the respective council.

The chairman of the association, Pharm. (Mrs.) Biola Paul-Ozieh, made the appeal during the association’s 2017 annual general meeting in Lagos recently.

According to her, the profession has suffered a lot within the space of 18 months or thereabout that the board had been deprived of performing its necessary oversight functions for the profession.

Mortein, Ogun State & FG Join Forces to End Malaria

The chairman however urged the community pharmacists in the state to be responsible and be ready to stand up for the profession at all time, adding that if they fail to stand for something that will enhance pharmaceutical care, improve health outcomes in Nigeria and add value health wise to the Nigerian people, they are certainly going to fall for everything and anything.

Cross section of participants at the event

“In the words of Howard Hendricks, a belief is something you argue about; but a conviction is what you die for, so as professionals, what are we ready to argue about and what are we ready to die for?. In those days to come, our professional conviction will be on trial and the earlier we develop a strong sense of purpose, commitment, and values, the better for the posterity of the pharmacy profession.”

Anambra PSN Tasks Hospital Pharmacists on Professionalism

A major high point of the programme was the re-election of the executive members of the association for the next one year.

Other members of the re-elected executives are Pharm. Olabanji Benedict Obideyi, vice chairman; Pharm. Lawrence Ekhator, secretary; Pharm. Moyosore Michael Ademola, assistant secretary; Pharm. Ismail Kola Sunmonu, treasurer; Pharm. Ambrose Sunday Ezeh, financial secretary; Pharm. Obiageri Ethel Ikwu, public relations officer; and Pharm. Timehin Ogungbe, editor-in-chief.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here